Group Settings

Configuring your Loomio group.

In group settings you can add a group description, upload a photo or image for your group, change group privacy and member permissions, and set thread view default. Only people who are 'admin' can see and edit group settings.

Go to the Settings tab on your group page. Click Edit Group Settings and use the form that appears (click save when done).

Group profile

Upload a group photo

Uploading a photo or image that has some meaning to your group significantly improves the sense of belonging. You can also add a logo which will appear alongside your group name in the sidebar menu. Click on the image and logo to upload your file.

The ideal pixel resolution for the group image is 2048 x 512. But any image with aspect ratio of 4:1 will fit.

Group description

Write your Group description. Use the formatting tools to format your description, attach documents, add links, embed videos and others.


Privacy

Go to the Settings tab on your group page. Click Edit Group Settings and go to the Privacy tab. Click Update Settings when done.

Your privacy settings determine who can find your group, who can see the threads in your group, and how people join.

The recommended privacy setting for new groups is Secret. This means everything is private to those invited members of the group. No one will know about this group (or subgroup) unless you invite them.

If you want the content of your discussions and decisions to be public, change your group privacy to Open. The members list will only be visible to other members.

Many groups also use Closed, to allow people to find your group and ask to join. The Name and Group description as well as links and attached files are publicly accessible in Closed groups.

NOTE: If you have a Closed or Secret group and change it to Open, all threads will become public. Changing an Open group to Closed or Secret will make all threads private.

Open groups may contain secret and closed subgroups.

A member of an open group can see the closed subgroup but not the secret ones.


Permissions

Most of the permissions settings only affect what members can do. Members are the users in your group who are not Admins.

Anyone can join (Open groups)

In open groups you can use the option, Anyone can join, in order for the public to be able to join without any action by any member of the group.

Requiring approval of membership requests (Open groups)

If you select this option, rather than letting people walk in the door voluntarily (self-select to join your group), then admin will have the option to approve or ignore people's requests to join.

  • You can also give group members the permission to approve requests, also in the Permissions tab of Group Settings.

Allow members of parent group to see threads

In closed subgroups you can allow members of the parent group to see discussions within the subgroup. Select, Members of [parent group] can see private threads to enable this feature. This feature is off by default. For more on subgroups, see here.

Members can invite people and approve requests to join

This allows everyone in your group to invite new people in, and approve any membership requests. When it is deselected only group admin will be able to invite and approve new members.

Members can notify everyone in group

When ticked, any Member will be able to use notify and invite people, sending notifications immediately to some, or all, of the group. Unless your group is very big, Loomio recommends you leave this on.

Create subgroups

This allows everyone in your group to create subgroups. When it is deselected only group admin will be able to create subgroups.

Start threads

This allows everyone in your group to start new threads. When it is deselected only group admin will be able to start discussions.

Edit the context of any thread in the group

This allows everyone in your group to edit the context of any thread. When it is deselected only group admin and the thread author will be able to edit the thread context.

Edit their comments at any time

This allows everyone in your group to edit their comments at any time. When it is deselected, a comment can only be edited until someone else participates in the thread.

Raise proposals

This allows anyone in your group to start a proposal within a thread. When this box is deselected only group admin will be able to raise proposals and polls.

Vote on proposals

This allows everyone in your group to state their position on proposals. When it is deselected only group admin will be able to state their position on proposals and polls.


Thread view settings

Thread activity is comprised of all the comments, replies, proposals, polls, votes and other notable things that happen within the thread. You can alter how that activity is displayed in order to optimize the experience for your group. These settings change the default layout for everyone in your group, but can be adjusted for each thread to serve a specific purpose:

Oldest or Newest first

By default, threads are set to Oldest listed with the oldest activity nearest the top. You can change the thread flow by switching to Newest so that the newest activity is at the top of the thread.

Flat or Nested replies

The thread can also be set to display chronologically, as a flat list, where all activity is displayed in the order that it happened, or as nested replies of one or two levels.

Nested replies keeps replies to comments together, and is very helpful to easily see mini-discussions within an overall thread.

Click Save to exit.